Home FAQs: Doodles & Owners: Finding a Puppy:
Fun Stuff: Care & Feeding: Forum & Community Grooming Photo Contest: Training:
Health Information: Resources: Special Stories What's New Working Doods
Contact Us

This information was supplied by:

Kris L. Christine
Founder, Co-Trustee
The Rabies Challenge Fund
(Mar. 31, 2010)


CALIFORNIA--Medical Exemption Bill AB 2000 ACTION ALERT!

California Assembly Member Curt Hagman has filed a bill which will insert a Medical Exemption Clause into California's Rabies Law. Assembly Bill AB200 http://www.leginfo.ca.gov./pub/09-10/bill/asm/ab_1951-2000/ab_2000_bill_20100217_introduced.html

   "This bill would exempt from the vaccination requirement the owner of a dog that a licensed veterinarian determines, on an annual basis, may have a potentially lethal reaction to the vaccination."

The bill has gone to the Agriculture Committee, concerned pet owners should call the Committee Secretary (Mona Wood) at 916-319-2084  and/or contact the Committee members at the phone numbers or e-mail addresses below and leave a message for the Committee that you want them to recommend passage of this bill.  Feline owners should request that cats be included as well.

Cathleen Galgiani - Chair     Dem-17     (916) 319-2017     Assemblymember.Galgiani@assembly.ca.gov
Tom Berryhill - Vice Chair     Rep-25     (916) 319-2025     Assemblymember.Berryhill@assembly.ca.gov
Connie Conway      Rep-34     (916) 319-2034     Assemblymember.Conway@assembly.ca.gov
Jean Fuller      Rep-32     (916) 319-2032     Assemblymember.Fuller@assembly.ca.gov
Jerry Hill      Dem-19     (916) 319-2019     Assemblymember.Hill@assembly.ca.gov
Fiona Ma      Dem-12     (916) 319-2012     Assemblymember.Ma@assembly.ca.gov
Tony Mendoza      Dem-56     (916) 319-2056     Assemblymember.Mendoza@assembly.ca.gov
Mariko Yamada      Dem-8     (916) 319-2008     Assemblymember.Yamada@assembly.ca.gov


            More information and regular updates on The Rabies Challenge Fund and the concurrent 5 and 7 year challenge studies it is financing can be found at the fund’s website designed by volunteer Andrea Brin at:  

The information contained on this site is in no way intended to replace that of proper veterinary advice, diagnosis or treatment.
It is meant to provide resource, so that we can better understand canine health related issues.